Beautiful Views and Blanket Squares

Hello and Season’s Greetings!

I promised another blog after all the festivities had subsided … so here goes!

I’ve decided to structure this blog along a couple of themes for the coming year:

Firstly, I’m going to reacquaint myself with my camera and get out and about taking some photo’s of my local area, in order to create a kind of Photo Journal through the seasons. A major reason behind this is that I’ve recently had to pretty much give up running for health reasons, so have been looking for opportunities to get out and about and enjoy being outdoors. I’m also really interested in getting better at photography and photo editing, so this seemed like the ideal way of combining those two interests. Hope you like the results:

Secondly, I’ve decided to begin a new project with my knitting: Last year I bought a book of patterns for squares to make Throws and Afghans (‘Blankets and Throws to Knit: Patterns and Piecing Instructions for 100 Knitted Squares’ by Debbie Abrahams). This was intended as a way of using up odd bits of interesting wool from my stash. As a result of a delay in some wool being delivered to finish off another project, I’ve begun knitting squares for a blanket. I’ve done three so far, and thought I’d document my progress on here. So here are my first squares:

So that’s the beginning of my two blog-related projects for the New Year! I’m very excited to see what results I get – new photography techniques, new knitting techniques – lots to occupy my mind! Any ideas for knitted squares would be appreciated – They’re done on 3.5 needles and measure roughly 38 stitches x 50 rows (around 15cm x 15cm) I’d also love any feedback on my photographs, as this really is something I’m just starting to get to grips with.

For those who celebrate at this time of year, I hope you’ve had a great Christmas, and I wish everyone a very, very happy New Year!

6 Comments

Filed under Knitting and Outdoors

6 responses to “Beautiful Views and Blanket Squares

  1. Your photos are gorgeous, such a warm, autumnal feel, and then followed by the knitted squares, with the colours matching up so well with autumn. Very clever idea, very nice.

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comments! For the outdoor shots really nature does all the work – I truly love this gorgeous valley, and it’s just nice to show it off. That said, I’m beginning to get a better understanding of how to bring out the best in the images and am enjoying the results!

  2. stitchesoftime

    Brilliant photos and I love the montage of them – we are very lucky to have such beautiful countryside here!

  3. Indeed so! Though having lived here all my life I feel there’s a danger of taking it for granted! Photographing it is my way of making me look properly!!

  4. Janet

    Just discovered your blog so much to look at am going to save it for later and am going to follow it so I can keep up to date with your posts. My grand daughter Jess has just started crafting and blogging (a crafty blog) . this has given me incentive to start knitting again after more than 20 years. Just discovered arm knitting! I am finding it really interesting discovering crafty blogs to follow, good luck with yours.

Leave a Reply

